vivid greens

yummy vegetarian meals on the fly

Taco Salad with creamy avocado lime dressing April 5, 2011

Filed under: Dinners,Green Scene,Meals,Recipes — Vivid Greens @ 6:45 pm

Today was a perfect crisp spring day here in Louisville!   It made me crave a light spring/summer meal.  The kind of meal where there is no need to even turn on the oven.  Luckily I remembered this bright fresh salad full of goodies.

Ingredients: (for 2 salads)

  • greens
  • 1 can of beans
  • salsa
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 lime
  • olive oil
  • hot sauce
  • corn chips

First drain the can of beans and spritz with a lime wedge.  Then place a good serving of mixed greens on the plates.  Next add a few spoonfuls of beans to each salad (you will have about a 1/2 can of beans leftover).  Top with a few spoonfuls of salsa.  We love this fresh salsa from our local grocery store.  The ingredients are merely tomatoes, peppers, onions, cilantro, salt, garlic, spices, citric acid and a few preservatives.

To make the dressing mix 1/2 an avocado with lime juice and olive oil until you reach a pleasing consistency and flavor.  Then add hot sauce to taste.  The final dressing is a bright and spicy jolt.  Add a few spoonfuls to each salad.

Next slice the other half of the avocado into chunks and add to each plate.  Finally take a handful of corn chips and crumble over the salad to give it a nice crunch.

So often the salads I make at home are the lazy kind that don’t pack much of a punch, but not so with this one.  It’s got a pleasing fancy-restaurant quality to it.  Enjoy!

 

 

5 Responses to “Taco Salad with creamy avocado lime dressing”

  1. Ellen Says:

    This looks really good. I like the avocado dressing idea too! I am really into homemade dressings lately..

  2. Kristen E Says:

    Love it! Now I want taco salad. 🙂

  3. Harriet Kubo Says:

    This salad looks great. I used to love the one at California Pizza Kitchen and it is where I first tasted jicama. I bought jicama but it just doesn’t taste the same. Do you ever use it? Spellcheck says I spelled it wrong, but hopefully I am close!
    H

    • Vivid Greens Says:

      Aunt Harriet, I haven’t cooked much with jicama but I’d like too! I’m always happy to see it on the menu when I’m out to eat. Perhaps I’ll work on finding a good recipe to use it in this spring.

  4. Emily Says:

    It’s BEAUTIFUL!!


Leave a comment